Proclamation On Ending Discriminatory Bans On Entry To The United States

January 22, 2021

On Wednesday, January 20, 2021, President Biden signed an Executive Order entitled, “Ending Discriminatory Bans on Entry to The United States," which revoked previous Executive Orders that prevented certain individuals from entering the United States. These previous Executive Orders that have now been revoked applied certain conditions of entry for individuals from different countries. Proclamation 9645 applied to citizens of Iran, Libya, North Korea, Syria, Venezuela, Yemen and Somalia, while Proclamation 9983 applied to citizens of Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Nigeria, Myanmar, Sudan and Tanzania. These proclamations have all been revoked and no longer apply. You can find further information regarding these past Proclamations and applicable conditions on the BIO Immigration Policy Updates page

In addition to revoking these past policies, the new Executive Order calls for the resumption of visa processing and for clearing the backlog of cases in waiver processing.  

Please note that all travel bans associated with COVID-19 are still in place and apply to citizens of affected countries, including individuals who were present in Iran within 14 days prior to their arrival in the U.S. For additional information regarding existing COVID travel bans, please visit the BIO COVID-19 FAQ page