Contact Us

Please email us with your specific questions as follows:

General Inquiries internationaloffice@berkeley.edu
NIF Questions nif@berkeley.edu
J-1 Visiting Scholars jscholar@berkeley.edu
H-1B UCB Employees h1b@berkeley.edu
Tax Filing (General Questions Only) biohelp@berkeley.edu

To learn about becoming a UC Berkeley student, contact the Undergraduate Admissions or Graduate Admissions offices.


Student Advising Hours (no advising on Wednesdays):

Virtual Drop-In Advising

Available Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, and Friday 10am-12pm.

In-Person Drop-In Advising

Available Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, and Friday 1-4pm.

Please see our Student Services webpage for more information.


Advising for J-1 Visiting Scholars, Professors, Researchers and Student Researchers, or H-1B UCB Employees

Due to the complex nature of scholar cases, we encourage you to email questions and/or request an appointment by emailing jscholar@berkeley.edu. If you are an H-1B UCB employee, please make an appointment by emailing h1b@berkeley.edu.


Holiday Closure Dates 2023

Holiday Date
Winter Break 2022-23

Open for virtual services only (office closed, no in-person services): Tuesday, December 20 - Thursday, December 22

Closed: Friday, December 23 - Monday, January 2

Open for virtual services only (office closed, no in-person services): Tuesday, January 3 - Friday, January 6

Open for in-person document pick-up/drop-off, but virtual advising only: Monday, January 9 - Friday, January 13

Closed for Martin Luther King Jr. Day: Monday, January 16

Open for all in-person services: Tuesday, January 17

Martin Luther King Jr. Day Monday, January 16
President's Day Monday, February 20
Cesar Chavez Day Friday, March 31
Memorial Day Monday, May 29
Juneteenth Monday, June 19
Independence Day

Tuesday, July 4

Labor Day Monday, September 4
Veteran's Day Friday, November 10
Thanksgiving

To be determined

MAP

Berkeley International Office

2150 Shattuck Avenue

Suite 500

Berkeley, CA 94704

Open Hours:

Monday–Friday  |  9 a.m.12 p.m. and 14 p.m.*

*Except the holiday closure dates noted below on this page.

In-person document pick-up and drop-off is available during BIO's open hours with no appointment necessary.

Advising services with BIO staff:

Tel: 1-510-642-2818  |  Fax: 1-510-643-7289